The community is all in!

Make a Pledge

AS OF 3/1/2020 MORE THAN $200,000 HAS BEEN PLEDGED BY COMMUNITY MEMBERS!! 


Properties adjacent to preserved open space typically have an average increase in property value of $11,000, but even those of us who live much farther afield benefit from open space preservation, water quality protection (the Red Clay is the source for one third of Suez' 100,000 water customers in New Castle County), new walking paths, less traffic, and quality of life benefits.  Until all the pieces of the puzzle come together to preserve this open space, we are not collecting actual funds from individuals.  But, in order to show how broad and deep community support is, this pledge campaign has been started. 


Join in and REGISTER YOUR PLEDGE TODAY!


Become a Founder of the Friends of Wooddale Preserve with gifts of $1,000 or more.

image2

NEIGHBORHOOD SIGN ON LETTER

Neighborhoods are encouraged to sign on as a community to a joint letter.


TO DATE (1/15/19) THE FOLLOWING HAVE SIGNED ON:


Brookmeade I

Brookmeade II & III

Canterbury Hills

Centerville Point

Little Falls Village

Maintenance Corporation of Westover Hills (Westover A)

Old Hobson Farm

Sedgely Farms

Tall Trees

Westgate Farms

West Riding

Westminster

Westmont

Winterbury

REQUEST SUPPORT FOR PUBLIC $$$ TO CONTRIBUTE TO THE PURCHASE

EXPRESS YOURSELF!!

YOU CAN HELP PERMANENTLY PROTECT THE OPEN SPACE AT THE FORMER HERCULES GOLF COURSE ALONG LANCASTER PIKE AND HERCULES ROAD


Using your own words and what is most important to you (suggested talking points below), please write POSITIVE, SUPPORTIVE letters or emails to the key elected officials below, asking for their support in providing matching funds for this conservation initiative.


  • Meet the outdoor needs of area residents including walking, biking, jogging, birdwatching, fishing and other outdoor activities including nature education programs
  • Protect environmentally sensitive areas and wildlife
  • Protect the water quality of Red Clay Creek, reducing the amount of impervious surface and development close to the creek, mitigating storm impacts, a, a key source of drinking water for 100,000 Delawareans
  • Decrease traffic impacts from more development
  • Provide the local communities with needed passive recreation
  • Fulfill State and New Castle County stated objectives to preserve open space for public use and quality of life
  • Ensures a continuing legacy of adequate recreational opportunities
  • Open space protection is lowest cost land use for taxpayers
  • Enhances tourism
  • Educational opportunities for area children


BOND BILL 

(“Please support Bond Bill funding to enable the permanent protection of…”)

CO-CHAIRS 

Sen. David Sokola, 24 Beech Hill Drive, Newark, DE 19711, David.Sokola@delaware.gov 

Rep. Debra Heffernan, 113 Blue Rock Road, Wilmington, DE 19809, Debra.Heffernan@delaware.gov 

BOND BILL – Additional Members from northern Delaware:

Rep. Mike Ramone, 211 Nathan Court, Newark, DE 19711

Rep. Kim Williams, 23 Weer Circle, Wilmington, DE 19808

Rep. Ed Osienski, 183 Scottfield Drive, Newark, DE 19713

Sen. Jack Walsh, 2607 Belaire Drive, Wilmington, DE 19808

Sen. Bryan Townsend,bryan.townsend@delaware.gov

Sen. Darius Brown, 2112 North Claymont Street, Wilmington, DE 19802


NEW CASTLE COUNTY 

(asking NCC to own/operate the nature preserve park & contribute funding for purchase)

County Executive Matthew Meyer, 87 Reads Way, New Castle, DE 19720, matthew.meyer@newcastlede.gov

County Councilwoman Janet Kilpatrick, 9 Shagbark Court, Hockessin, DE 19707, janet.kilpatrick@newcastlede.gov 

County Council Member Dee Durham, 901 Mt. Lebanon Road, Wilmington, DE 19803, dee.durham@newcastlede.gov

County Councilman Ken Woods, 1727 West Robbins Place, Wilmington, DE 19805, kenneth.woods@newcastlede.gov

County Councilman Tim Sheldon, 7 ½ Rose Circle, Newark, DE 19711, timothy.sheldon@newcastlede.gov

County Councilman Jea Street, 910 North Bancroft Parkway, Wilmington, DE 19805, jea.street@newcastlede.gov

County Councilman Penrose Hollins, 418 West Matson Run Parkway, Wilmington, DE 19802, Penrose.Hollins@newcastlede.gov 


STATE LEGISLATORS (in whose districts the parcels are located or are nearby)

("Please support Delaware state funding to the fullest extent possible toward the purchase price through the Open Space Council and Bond Bill")

Sen. Anthony Delcollo, 35 Briar Avenue, Wilmington, DE 19805, Anthony.Delcollo@delaware.gov 

Sen. Laura Sturgeon, 414 North Foulkstone, Road, Wilmington, DE 19803, Laura.Sturgeoun@delaware.gov 

Rep. Gerald Brady, 1802 Wawaset Street, Wilmington, DE 19806, Gerald.Brady@delaware.gov

Rep. Krista Griffith, 2212 Amhurst Road, Wilmington, DE 19803, Krista.Griffith@delaware.gov

Rep. Mike Smith, 34 Rankin Road, Newark, DE 19711, Michael.F.Smith@delaware.gov 

Rep. Mike Ramone, 211 Nathan Court, Newark, DE 19711, Michael.Ramone@delaware.gov 

Governor John Carney, 150 William Penn Street, Dover, DE 19901, John.Carney@delaware.gov 


DELAWARE OPEN SPACE COUNCIL (asking for Open Space Council funding support)

DNREC Secretary Shawn Garvin, Shawn.Garvin@delaware.gov 

Sen. Bruce Ennis, 522 Smyrna-Clayton Boulevard, Smyrna, DE 19977, Bruce.Ennis@delaware.gov

Rep. Gerald Brady, 1802 Wawaset Street, Wilmington, DE 19806, Gerald.Brady@delaware.gov

Governor John Carney, 150 William Penn Street, Dover, DE 19901, John.Carney@delaware.gov 

image3

Sign the Petition!

Show your support by signing our petition, and then share with friends and neighbors.

Letters of Support have been received from:

image4
image5
image6
image7
image8
image9
image10
image11
image12
image13
image14
image15
image16
image17
image18
image19

Join Your Friends on Facebook and Stay up to Date

Follow us on Instagram

Sign up for periodic e-news!